What does Fairy Meadow sound like?

My main intent for this piece is to grab one’s attention, and ultimately hold that engagement with the listener whilst mapping my version of Fairy Meadow. My location (9) was very suburban yet close to Balgownie Road, which blended the simple sounds of suburbia with a subtle sense of busyness, creating an unexpected eeriness. I wished to fuse together sublime sounds with mechanical, harsh tones.

In our modern world, it’s difficult to find silence without feeling unsure or anxious. Fairy Meadow is filled with many residential streets, which I was intrigued by as I’ve always lived central to the city. My experience was somewhat mysterious, perhaps because of my encounter with a black cat but also due to my lack of familiarity for the area I was in. I wanted my audience to engage with that original feeling, the eerie feeling that so often unsettles us whilst understanding the busy noises that are merely background sounds.

One thought on “What does Fairy Meadow sound like?

Leave a Reply

